Near Death

By my count,
I have nearly died
Three times.

My first escape
Came behind the wheel
Of a twirling car.

My second triumph
Came by evading a
Misguided hand.

The last victory
Came by outlasting
An eruption from within.

During the first two,
I was unable to
Grasp the significance.

The last event
Though, was much,
Much different.

My soul wept
And saw the dimming
Light of my existence.

Then I realized, there is
Nothing  more sad than
That which is left undone.

From that day on,
I knew I must finish
Everything I’d left for the future.

The question,
However,
Was how?

by Cody McCullough

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Really a great piece. Makes all of us think about our lives; how much we’ve accomplished and how much is still un-done!

    Reply
  2. Cody McCullough

     /  February 20, 2013

    Thanks for the comment. This poem is an important piece to the collection as a whole, and for something else that I have in mind…

    Reply
  3. mike and brandy

     /  February 21, 2013

    i liked the part about not leaving things undone. insightful and true.
    mike

    Reply
    • Cody McCullough

       /  February 21, 2013

      Thanks for the comment. I’ve been trying as much as possible to not leave things undone. Of course, sometimes it’s easier said than done….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

